Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (21) - TV Shows (56) - Books (8) - Games (99)

Armageddon Empires review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 16 February 2012 09:45 (A review of Armageddon Empires)

The game is a lighter than average turn based strategy. I did like it overall when i played the demo the lack of multiplayer is severely crippling.

Gameplay is slow and while the interface is pretty good why can't i roll both sides instantly and have the accept button in the same place as rolling?

There is no multiplayer and the ai in the demo is not too effective. This is the biggest problem with the game.

I think the game is much more a strategy game then card because the decks are not that different and gameplay is about improving the standard deck rather than masking multiple with differing strategies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mad Men review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 10 February 2012 04:09 (A review of Mad Men)

Really well made in almost every way except its also definitely not for me. I still can't believe advertising works.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Academagia review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 10 February 2012 12:25 (A review of Academagia)

Lots and lots of stats and abilities. Manual misses some important hints to be brief. For rpger there is lots of stuff to explore and try but for strategy gamer that is usualy reduced to reading a wiki. The content is intended to extend playthrough as some things are very useful and knowing is better than half the battle.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mayhem Intergalactic review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 9 February 2012 11:07 (A review of Mayhem Intergalactic)

Quick simple effectively board game. Likely to be a distillation of a strategy concept. Needs rules tweeking i think or i just haven't played multiplayer. Seriously what address to use for multiplayer, or is there no server? Also needs an explanation of math behind the game like every strategy game. Has rules for how to run on Win ME. Old.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sins of a Solar Empire review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 3 February 2012 05:20 (A review of Sins of a Solar Empire)

Summary: there are better rts games and single player gets tedious. Probably not enough depth to satisfy the die-hard 4x fan.

This is a review of Sose with diplomacy & entrenchment addon at 1.30 against the hardest ai.

While i had no real difficulty in jumping straight into the game the documentation of some game mechanics is a whole different story. That requires searching through the Sose forums and even then most people are not sure how shield mitigation works.

Micromanagement is not horrible. At the beginning of a game though its seems like the main thing i do. The autoplacer needs to build all the defensive buildings as close together as possible.

The game's real downfall are the few number of strategies available. The strategy doesn't change because it is optimal and only diplomacy can alter the militancy to economy spending ratio. Also not many tactics and watching a battle too long over watching empire is inadvisable.

Build trade ports for what amounted to as double the income. Only build capital ships. They can be expected to survive even a loosing battle and so wont cost resources to rebuild. Attack enemy empires that get too close in ffa over neutrals. If you have destroyed a large part of the opponents fleet take some of their planets. Build lots of the basic beem defenses. A fully built up space base is indestructible. When defending fight at your defenses.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dragon Age: Origins review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 21 January 2012 09:00 (A review of Dragon Age: Origins)

This game really excels at story telling, voice overs and character face animation.

The combat gets repetitive. It does not have enough enemy variety or a proper difficulty. The tactical automation saves grind and makes real time combat possible.

Inventory management in all its facets is still a pain.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Distant Worlds review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 16 January 2012 02:07 (A review of Distant Worlds)

Helper AI that saves from micromanagement completely if you so wish. The game may be shallow, its replayability none existent, its ai retarded but for the few games that i do play i am never working or bored. And its not most of those things. Also lets a new player ease into the game by letting the ai work on the parts he doesn't know yet. Ironically it is the weakness of the ai both helper and opponent that most limits the depth and replayability of this game.


The easiest way to win on hardest level is to automate everything except ship production, research and treaties. Stay at peace with everyone near you at all costs until you command overwhelming forces. Never going to war through a whole game is very possible. Trade tech for money. Spend excess money on tech bursts. Colonize faster than the ai and you will win.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Star Ruler review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 15 January 2012 02:56 (A review of Star Ruler)

Summary: Hugely micromanagement dependent game. The ai both helper and enemy are not up to the task. The ai is not allowed to help in some very tedious tasks. Interface is good but not good enough. The economy is solved with some algebra and the ship construction is not nearly fun enough to justify the grind.

The 3d is useless for gameplay and the battles are barely good enough to justify it. Thankfully the non-free-camera is easy enough to use.

Tutorial goes over every control in boring language not explaining a damn about game mechanics. Play a few games and gloss it or just skip. The -pedia does not explain anything in enough detail.

Economy is game breakingly retarded. Everything requires 3 resources to produce and every population point also requires 3 resources. There is a building for each one of these resources. The only rule for for deciding which of these buildings to build is " which resource do i have least of". The ai can't handle this and microing buildings is a huge pain.

I really cant imagine how multiplayer works.

To win get the "start with 25M tons of metal" perk. To save sanity play with the "no emotions" perk. When building ships put large engines and a repair tool outboard. Also get a muon blaster with the range subsystem and just outrange and outmaneuver the ai.

Actually, for one game i pulled through to the end. I called it a win in my favor because i ran amok on my enemies territory. Unfortunately i cant possibly finish the game because there are 250 star systems and for every planet i carpet bomb the enemy colonizes another one. Infact, before the wars started for real i had given up making colonize system orders. Too many stars.

And then i set star systems to 50, 4 enemies on hardest, changed buildings after they were built, and lead the galaxy in research and economy. I used 128 factor of ship size with only 6 fleets and it still got tedious fast. Then got the simplified economy mod and realized construction and fleet management are still a huge pain.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wakfu review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 13 January 2012 08:51 (A review of Wakfu)

Bright happy colorful creative fun. For kids.
Great animation thanks to Flash? except for 3d is off.
Really funny to hear real French spoken.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Space Rangers 2: The Rise of the Dominators review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 10 January 2012 05:24 (A review of Space Rangers 2: The Rise of the Dominators)

Five games in one; most underdeveloped.
Combat: one weapon type dominates. Controls not automated enough.
Econ and Route planning: gets old.
Rts: has a few nice ideas but only one strategy seems to work.
Arcade space fighter: small game.
Text adventure: Probably the most game time and variety but in the end its for people who like this sort of game.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block