Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (21) - TV Shows (56) - Books (8) - Games (99)

Europa Universalis III review

Posted : 8 years ago on 16 September 2010 12:13 (A review of Europa Universalis III)

My eyes hurt from playing this.
In the end the game is not as strategically deep as it says because conquering stuff is best strategy by far and ordering armies around is often tedious and requires no thinking at all. It has complexity but often in things that don't matter.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Legend of the Galactic Heroes review

Posted : 8 years ago on 14 September 2010 06:50 (A review of Legend of the Galactic Heroes)

Anime fans must watch at least a little of this though watching the whole thing is really not necessary. The show seems slow.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Legend of the Legendary Heroes review

Posted : 8 years ago on 14 September 2010 06:37 (A review of Legend of the Legendary Heroes)

The politics and effect the characters can have on the world are what draw me to this anime. Also the main character and his decisions. May not be very popular but its my favorite anime currently airing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Samurai Champloo review

Posted : 8 years ago on 14 September 2010 05:11 (A review of Samurai Champloo)

Nice, reliable, easy to watch amine. No real arch so episodic. The stories are definitely unique. When i want to watch an anime but don't have anything planed i watch this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Baka and Test: Summon the Beasts review

Posted : 8 years ago on 14 September 2010 05:07 (A review of Baka and Test: Summon the Beasts )

Cheers me right up! Great for ppl who had bad experiences in middle school.

I wish i went to a school that had EPIC TEST WARS over quality school equipment. IMHO its an awesome system. Both the EPIC TEST WARS and giving better stuff to students who do better in school. Its like the school solution to Dilbert type problems.

The comedy is fast and furious. Although many of the jokes are aimed and made by middle school otakus the speed of the jokes means i can always be laughing at a joke I liked while ignoring the more immature ones. Among my favorites is the diet the main character is on.

Cuteness and action are good! The little kids are not fighting over life and death issues and that seems to mean they are allowed to make intricate and elaborate plans to win. Though the plans were fun to watch at first later they were just good reasons for the comedy and the rest of the show. The fact that the kids aren't fighting over life and death issues is a BIG point in the show's favor an imho rare.

Great advice on how to deal with being a loser too!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

BattleForge review

Posted : 8 years ago on 9 September 2010 09:39 (A review of BattleForge)

In the end its not fun. Either because the game is often vary fast when i want a longer strategic game or because there are actually far fewer viable units / strategies or because it often depends on lucky clicking placement rather than strategy. One of these may be wrong but not 2. Also some more transparency in the math would be nice. The main issue is that the game is rather simple for the number of units it promises. Every new card set release unbalances the game.

To make this game cheap buy the game online not points directly. You will get about a 3:1 ratio.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

League of Legends review

Posted : 8 years ago on 9 September 2010 09:24 (A review of League of Legends)

Updated! 9.25.11: Dominion mode fixes 2/3 of the horrible gameplay problems.

Free; play now. Based on Dota. Competes with demigod and HoN.

The best thing about this game is that it has few faults: Monetization and leveling don't get in the way. The graphics make the game easy too see and never an eyestrain. There is not too much to keep track of or command as in a standard strategy game.

Good, easy to see wow-like graphics!! Beginner friendly. Deep item system. Ward/bush mechanics. Balanced. Many champions. The 'mmo' qualifications do not get in the way of the game.

There are two huge gripes with this game.
The end game and in most ways the game in general is decided by as few as two seconds of the team gank and weather or not you could pick and click the enemy in the jumble of enemies and then do it twice more for mages and not split second lag.

Too often the best strategy is patience. In the early game the best strategy is often to tower hug. Or to put it another way the best option is to be patient and do nothing for 15min. Of course this depends on the champion you pick but that's a bad solution. Creep farming (last hitting) in general is hard and tedious and annoying because there are too many creeps and they are no challenge. In late game the best strategy by far is sitting in a bush with your whole team waiting for your enemy to blunder in with only part of his team.

In summery alot of effort and time goes into the preparation for the battle and the battle lasts all of 3 seconds.

There are far too few maps/game modes. Every one wants to be the damage dealer and noone wants to be the tank partly because of difficulty farming. Games are often too long (1hr-45min).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo review

Posted : 8 years ago on 9 September 2010 12:43 (A review of Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo)

Currently watching. Art style works but only in scenes of the setting. The rest of the time the static texture makes lines harder to see like everyone's wearing camouflage.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gratuitous Space Battles review

Posted : 8 years ago on 4 September 2010 09:15 (A review of Gratuitous Space Battles)

Though this game is 2d its very pretty. This game's best feature besides being unique is the fact that there is never a tedious moment. Every click requires an actual decision. Interface is easy and efficient. Learning curve is not steep and the game starts out easy and gives the player a self setting difficulty through the "honor" score system. In total I enjoyed every moment that i played. Many mods are available.
The lack of story is made up by comedy.

My main complaints: Many ship systems are too much alike. Often the battle is decided by getting your ships to fire at targets they can do damage to and getting the enemy to do the opposite. The fact that a major part of game-play runs on ai disability is annoying but not too much. A number of strategies (namely stay a distance away from enemies or hit and run) are completely impossible because no such options exist in ai.

This game is not for everyone as the later game-play and replay-ability is for strategy fans. However the beginning and the demo is a treat for anyone. Demo which will download fast, install faster and work on anything.

This game is kind of like Battleships Forever. Although that game is about positioning and tactics while this is about design and strategy i guess.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

DeadFingers review

Posted : 8 years ago on 3 September 2010 11:53 (A review of DeadFingers)

This graphic novel focuses on the personal problems and feelings of the characters. It does a better job of this than the sometimes random predicaments of the world and character's inability to change it. Some of the moments when the main two characters consider their situation are the highlights of this novel for me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block