Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (21) - TV Shows (56) - Books (8) - Games (99)

Truer RTS FPS hybrid

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 7 October 2010 12:55 (A review of Battleswarm: Field of Honor)

MMO Fps/Rts hybrid. AKA Battle Star Online. While all other Rts/Fps mixes allow a commander role of the team for the rtser and that means 1/6 gets to rts this game pits the fpser vs the rtser. The grinding is not boring. Item time limits and bonuses for playing continuously make the game seem like it really wants you to stay. On that note the # of ppl playing is low but enough to find a game in 10 minutes. That is too long and usually you will have to play the maps other ppl choose.

Setting is Terran Marines vs Zerg or Starship Troopers vs Bugs Or aliens... All the review sites say "looks like Starship troopers"

Monetization through item mall that gives advantages. So far annoying not in price but in all items bought being destroyed after a set time (about a week
average). Best items being randomly given is offset with a market where a player who never pays can occasionally buy even the best items for game earned
gold. In fact the way sales go, selling time not items i think the point of buying the random chests is to get gold rather than use the item. No some things are way overpriced.

[Link removed - login to see]
Guide: Try new guns by buying from other players. Its cheaper. Use the armor u get from tutorials. Play Infestation scenario to grind gold. Do missions
(theres a tab in the game lobby) to level. At this level bugs are alot harder to play than marines. Buy the juggernaut "egg". Whenever you get time in anything sell in minimal intervals.

Fps mode: Good atm. Good graphics good game-play. Although i don't really play much fps so i cant compare. I thought i would lag (200-150 ping) but i guess when playing against an rts opponent the units don't dodge so much. Guns are unbalanced with some doing alot more damage and others alot less(toxin flame
g-launch). Nut maybe those guns have special situations like tight swarms.

Rts mode: Plays like anti-defense game more than rts because only have time to order "attack" to hives and then order mass spam build. all the units have special abilities but i dont have enough time to even give them attack orders much less use their special. Need to be able to control more than the current 20 at a time.
Why do the zerglings(commandos) do more damage than any other unlimited unit? REALLY needs more documentation. (wiki solves? incompletely) Possibly because few ppl play and for all the stated reasons the Bug pve missions seem representative.

No Bug vs bug or marine vs marine or even bug + marine VS bug + marine.

Developed by GameWorld Tech.co ltd of China and published by Reality Gap Inc.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Evony review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 6 October 2010 12:52 (A review of Evony)

[Link removed - login to see] Most well known of the persistant world browser strategy games.

[Link removed - login to see] :

"Dawn Of Nations is an MMO web browser game set in the unforgiving campaigns of World War 2. The game actually feels a bit TOO much like Evony Online, but since it shares the same war theme, it's a given that it will also contain the generic browser game basics. To be honest, I'm not really sure why the sub-genre (web browser wars) refuses to evolve. We've seen countless games that share the same system, as though the developer's only goal was to launch something that completely matches the recent threshold of enjoyment rather than create something new and potentially better. So what separates Dawn of Nations from both its predecessors and successors? What makes this war game so different? I guess we'll soon find out."

I ran8 have counted almost 60 and they are all the same!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

2029 Online review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 5 October 2010 12:26 (A review of 2029 Online)

Called a strategy game by freemmogamer for some reason. Has a battleground minigame that is actualy, an rts. Igg called it in rts. AUTOGRINDS though.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alteil review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 1 October 2010 02:23 (A review of Alteil)

Stupid pay for cards system. The free demo/intro however is something else. A real strategy fanatic should make a goal to win 25 games in a row! In the intro you play against other people playing the intro who also have the same limitations. A limited set of cards make it possible to build and play the perfect deck for that set and trying to accomplish that is what i like. This is the experience I am rating and not the actual game.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

FreeCol Colonization review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 1 October 2010 12:20 (A review of FreeCol Colonization )

At version .9.4 with 1.0.0 being complete copy of colonization.
[Link removed - login to see] OLD
[Link removed - login to see] NEW
Has much more than the original (#players, multiplay) but alot more like the original than the remake.

Compared to most TBS the gameplay is alot more broad. What i mean is combat units have 4 stats (move attack def skill?) while exploration, trade and trade resource obtainment play much larger roles. Micromanagement exists in the form of resource shuffling but is reduced by the separation of gameplay and trade routes auto ai. This game is much more luck based than most especially the lost ruins which can net huge gains for the lucky.

Wikipedia:
Changes from Sid Meier's Colonization
In addition to updated graphics engine and a multiplayer segment, Civilization IV: Colonization has many new gameplay mechanics. When starting the game, in addition to choosing a starting European nation, a player chooses between two governors, each with different advantages.[11] In addition, national borders is a gameplay concept taken from Civilization IV. This means that rivals cannot pass into each other's land unless they have an open borders agreement — or they have declared war.

Unlike the original game, nations cannot recruit the same founding fathers. Each founding father is recruited by one and only one nation/player. Moreover, founding fathers will only join nations with certain criteria, namely a certain level of "points" obtained in various categories (political, military, exploration, religion, and trade).[12]

After the player declares independence, players draft a constitution determining the government style of their independent nation. For example, if a nation chooses a monarchical system, then it can still trade with Europe during the war for independence.[13]

Additionally, there are no longer any Loyalist victories.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Shattered Galaxy review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 30 September 2010 11:50 (A review of Shattered Galaxy)

Not bad BUT UGLY butt ugly! Tvtropes really hits all the main points. Units can also be customized to a great degree. Did i mention it was really ugly? I didn't play it too much BECAUSE IT WAS REALLY UGLY but there is enough strategic and tactical depth that aside from needing better explanations for beginners I enjoyed it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bloodline Champions review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 30 September 2010 02:39 (A review of Bloodline Champions)

Alot more aiming/action/arcade than most other Dotas. Almost no character building. Fast games. Probably won't play until i figure out contrl scheme. This game is hard mode.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Avalon Heroes review

Posted : 7 years, 11 months ago on 30 September 2010 01:55 (A review of Avalon Heroes)

ARRGH my eyes, just like the original dota. Has many maps and modes. Unfortunately many of these seem requisite ala rpg grind. Not as balanced as competitors. Much faster game play. Some interface mistakes like easily unselecting hero. The eyesight problem is the biggest issue by far.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Vega Strike review

Posted : 7 years, 12 months ago on 28 September 2010 01:52 (A review of Vega Strike)

Really good music and visuals make up for the game play i probably couldn't understand. Has several mods including star trek. I last played it about five years ago. Some of the music is REALY good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Firefly review

Posted : 8 years ago on 18 September 2010 05:01 (A review of Firefly)

Based on the anime Outlaw Star.
Here is some proof:
[Link removed - login to see]
Wait i mean: [Link removed - login to see] Also the last relations between Gene/Melfina and Malcom/Tam. This is all because Outlaw Star was supposed to have a second season and Wedon felt like making it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block